Skip to content

Scholarship and Awards Announcements

Posted in Scholarships & Awards


Manitoba Library Association Awards were not distributed in 2021.  


Each year the Manitoba Library Association provides scholarships to deserving students.  The Scholarship funds are managed by The Winnipeg Foundation with two Awards being given out to one or more recipients.  This year, the Association had $19,000 available for the John Edwin Bissett Scholarship and $4,000 for the Jean Thorunn Law Scholarship.  In addition, the Association’s Library Technician Division supports the annual Red River College graduation award.  More information on our Scholarships is available on our website

The successful applicants for this year are: 

John Edwin Bissett Scholarship: 

  • Hannah Oudenaar
  • Taylor Watkins
  • Amber Lamboo 

 Jean Thorunn Law Scholarship: 

  • Sarah Lee

Red River College Library & Information Technology Student Award:

  • Megan Wehrle

We wish all of these students the best of luck as they continue with their studies this fall!

Thank you to this year’s selection Committee, Kerry Macdonald, Danielle Hubbard, and Ebony Novakowski, for their willingness to serve in this capacity. We appreciate all of your hard work!